Butternut Squash Soup

This is my favorite butternut squash soup. Since fall is around the corner, will you join my in giving it a try?

I’ve tried this with onion, but I like the taste of leeks much better. It compliments the sweetness of the squash.

Serves 6-8 (makes about 8 cups)

Ingredients

  • 1 large butternut squash
  • 1 large leek
  • 4 cups veggie broth (sub for chicken)
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg, coriander, paprika, salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper, onion powder, ground sage
  • Maple syrup to taste (approx. 1 T)
  • Hand blender, food processor, or blender

Directions

  1. Wash the squash, then cut it in half length-wise. Coat the skin with a little oil, scoop out the seeds (save for a roasted snack if you want!), and cover in foil.
  2. Bake the squash halves at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about 75 minutes. You could also bake it at 400 for 40 minutes, turning halfway, but watch for burning.
  3. While the squash is baking, finely chop the white part of the leek and add it to a large deep skillet on medium heat with a tiny bit of oil or butter. Sprinkle the salt and spices on top after about 2 minutes (not the maple). Sautee’ for a few minutes, until the leek begins to soften and the spices are aromatic, stirring a few times. About 3-5 minutes. Remove from heat and pour into blender or food processor. (Skip if using hand blender.)
  4. Once the squash is soft to the touch, you will scoop the flesh out of the peel straight into a blender or food processor. (If using hand blender, scoop directly into pan.)
  5. Add the 4 cups of veggie broth and puree. A food processor will not puree the leeks as finely as a blender, so you may want to strain if you like it smooth.
  6. Taste test and adjust spices and maple syrup as needed. That’s it!

Tips:

I have tried this with chicken broth and it comes through too strongly, in my opinion. However, it works in a pinch. You could also sub the broth for your choice of unsweetened milk, but I have not subbed the full amount, so I cannot vouch for the flavor. You will want more spices if you do so, since milk is fatty. (Only if using dairy milk.)

I do not put garlic in this soup because it turns the soup bitter. This soup is best if it keeps it’s mild sweetness.

I serve this soup hot, but unless you are using chicken broth (too fatty), you could serve it cold as well.

Try adding: Carrots! They would pair well. You can also reduce the broth and add thyme for a pasta sauce.

Share your pictures if you give it a try!

Published by Leah Ruth

I am passionate about sharing what I learn, discover, and create. I am a teacher, writer, creator, and lover of Jesus. I hope to inspire you, teach you something new, or show you that you're not alone in this. Follow my updates or check out some of my other websites for a variety of topics. I have my fingers in lots of pies! In all, I hope to encourage you. Thanks for stopping by! -Leah

Tried my recipe? Tell me how it went!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started