Cheesecake (family recipe!)

This is the only cheesecake recipe I’ve ever used, because it’s just about perfect. While I can’t eat it anymore, I’m excited to share it with you!

You’ll either want to use a springform pan, two store bought crusts, or cut the recipe in half.

Best made the day or morning before to allow for chilling. Do not eat it hot.

Ingredients

Graham Cracker Crust: (skip if using store bought)

  • 1 1/2 c. graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/3 c. melted butter
  • 3 T sugar (white granulated is best)

Filling:

  • 4 eggs (aqua fava may work as a substitute but I haven’t tried it)
  • 4 packages of 8 oz. cream cheese (or low fat)
  • 1/2 c. white sugar
  • 1/2 c. light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • splash of fresh lemon juice (bottled works too)
  • Hand mixer or standing mixture
  1. Put a few graham crackers into a large ziplock bag and press it flat, seal. Now, either take a rolling pin and smash them or use another heavy object like a can or glass cup. Smash finely until you have enough crumbs. Repeat if necessary.
  2. Measure out 1 1/2 c. crumbs and combine melted butter and sugar. Mix thoroughly. Check the consistency by squeezing some in your hands. It should hold together lightly without any butter squishing out.
  3. Press the crust mixture into the bottom of your pan, and up the sides if you want. This fits best into a springform pan. You will not be able to keep the crust going all the way up the sides. If you have a trick for that, share it below!
  4. For the filling: Start by blending the sugar and the cream cheese until smooth. You may want to leave the cream cheese out to soften for an hour or so first. If you add all the ingredients at once, you will get lumps! Take my word for it.
  5. Next, add each egg one at a time and blend until smooth. (A good tip is to crack it into a measuring cup first to make sure no shell pieces end up in your food.)
  6. Lastly, add the vanilla and lemon juice. We use around a tablespoon of juice, but I’ve never actually measured. Just taste it and add more if needed. Don’t overdo it! I’ve mostly used the bottled kind, so don’t feel bad if its all you have. It works. (The lemon brings out the sweetness and sharpens the cheese at the same time. It’s our family secret!)
  7. Pour the filling into your pan, pre-baking optional. Bake on middle rack for 55 minutes at 325 degrees Fahrenheit. I recommend placing a pan underneath to catch any leaks and for easy removal. It is done when the top has just begin to golden and the middle loses its jiggle. It will continue to firm up when refrigerated. Cracks may happen; I don’t have a trick for that yet.
  8. Leave out to cool for an hour or so and then refrigerate for 4 hours, or until completely chilled. Then its safe to top with chocolate sauce, fresh strawberries, or whipped cream! We like it so much, we always eat it as is.

Variations: If you want a chocolate crust, add a couple tablespoons of cocoa powder (to taste) and an extra tablespoon of sugar, increasing butter as needed for texture. You can also add chocolate chips in after pour half of the batter, or top it before baking. Bear in mind that adding chocolate chips to the top may cause burning because of the high sugar content. Cover with foil to prevent this.

Published by Leah Ruth

I am passionate about sharing what I learn, discover, and create. I am a teacher, writer, creator, and lover of Jesus. I hope to inspire you, teach you something new, or show you that you're not alone in this. Follow my updates or check out some of my other websites for a variety of topics. I have my fingers in lots of pies! In all, I hope to encourage you. Thanks for stopping by! -Leah

Tried my recipe? Tell me how it went!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started