Substitutions: 7 Egg Replacers

With research and practice, I’ve learned that there are a number of ways to substitute for eggs in any given recipe. However, it’s important to take the type of recipe into consideration when choosing the substitute. Not all egg replacements work for all recipes. Here’s a quick guide of what I’ve learned:

  1. Chia Seeds
  2. Ground Flax
  3. Aquafaba (chick pea juice)
  4. Psyllium Husk
  5. Starches (corn, tapioca, potato, arrowroot…)
  6. Egg Replacer (store-bought)
  7. Gelatin

*Applesauce is an oil substitute, not an egg substitute. I have to remind myself of this a lot. It’s a great way to cut down on calories and fat when baking. I use 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce in cakes when I want to do this-or if I’m out of oil. It won’t be as heavy or as moist as oil, however.

Chia Seeds

Chia seeds are a high-protein substitute for eggs that provide 2 unique qualities. 1) They have a crunch in baked goods. 2) When moistened, the outer lining plumps up into a gel that is good for restoring gut lining.

Since chia seeds have a noticeable texture and the outer lining acts like an egg white, these are best used in baked goods such as cakes and breads. They also make a good “pudding” snack and can even soak up extra liquid in something like a syrup or raw jam. I sometimes add them to smoothies for a little protein.

  • 1 TBSP chia seeds (dry, whole)
  • 2.5 TBSP water (room temp or cold)

Mix and allow to sit for about 5 min OR add the chia to dry ingredients and use 2.5 TBSP extra liquid in your recipe. Let sit 5 min after combined. If the mixture doesn’t thicken, your seeds are too dehydrated. You’ll need new seeds.

Ground Flax

Flax “eggs” are best for baked goods and breads. They have a slightly gritty texture, so combining with whole grains or heavier flours can disguise the flax completely. Flax is smoother than chia seeds.

  • 1 TBSP ground flax seeds
  • 3 TBSP water

Combine and let sit for 5 min, OR add flax to dry ingredients and use more liquid in your recipe. Allow to sit 5 min after combining. Mixture should become very thick.

*I buy whole flax seeds in bulk at Winco and grind them myself in a Magic Bullet. A food processor will not work, but a coffee grinder should if you choose to take the time to be this cheap, like me.

Aquafaba

When you open a can of chick peas, also known as garbanzo beans, the liquid inside is aquafaba, meaning “bean water.” This liquid looks like egg whites and it acts well as a substitute. You can use it in baking, but I’ve also heard you can use it for merengues just like an egg white. My sister successfully did so. It’s my favorite for cakes. (For puddings, sauces, and custards, I would use starches before trying aquafaba.)

  • 3 TBSP of aquafaba = 1 whole egg
  • 2 TBSP = 1 large egg white

Prepare recipe as usual. If making choux pastry, add the aquafaba after cooking on the stove, or so I’ve heard!

Psyllium Husk

This is basically ground up plant husk, and it absorbs liquid really well. It’s a fiber that your body won’t absorb, but small amounts like this won’t be noticeable passing through. Though it’s insoluble, it is healthy to digest. Psyllium also works best for baked goods, and it’s my favorite for non-yeasted breads and waffles. If you want to try gluten free vegan flat bread, psyllium husk will be the best binding agent to use.

Typically, 3 TBSP give or take is enough to get the job done when baking bread (3) or making waffles (1). I haven’t experimented enough to give you better proportions, so I’d recommend researching recipes like the one you want to make to figure out how much is needed. I’m still learning about this one, so feel free to share your expertise!

Starches (corn, potato, tapioca, arrowroot)

These vary in texture slightly, but all do a great job of thickening sauces. They can be combined with baking soda to replace eggs in baked goods, but I typically buy the pre-mixed egg substitute to save time when I do that.

Make sure you mix these into cold liquid, or they will clump irreversibly.

  • Tapioca is more like mucus, very soft, best for ice cream.
  • Corn starch thickens most like flour, so I use it whenever I can in gravy and creamy sauces. If you use a lot, it will harden much like jello. This is the firmest of the starches I listed.
  • Potato starch binds less than the above, but it can also prevent homemade fries from sticking to the pan. I use it to moisten GF baked goods.
  • Arrowroot will remain translucent as it thickens, making it ideal for artistic creations. It will also thicken more like jello when cooked and cooled.

Rule of thumb: Use corn starch if you have it. If you don’t, use tapioca. If it’s pudding, it will taste much better chilled when using tapioca. I use potato when I don’t need it to be a sauce. I’ve yet to use arrowroot outside of baking gluten free.

  • 1 TBSP starch per 1 cup liquid for pudding consistency, slightly less for gravy served hot.
  1. First, whisk the starch into a small amount of cold liquid from your recipe, just enough to whisk. Now, you can add it to the rest of the liquid and cook.
  2. This mixture needs to come to a full, rolling boil in order to thicken. Once it starts to get hot, start stirring every minute or so. Scrape the bottom; it should be thick. This is normal, just stir it up. It will continue to thicken as it cools. It’s safe to boil a minute or more here, but you will need to continually scrape the bottom and lower the heat to avoid burning and clumping.
  3. For gravy, do not add more if you see it fail to thicken! After it boils, simply cool it down and see if it thickens. Refrigerated leftovers will be quite thick and will remain thicker than when boiled.

If you mix these into hot liquids because you forgot to do it in order, here’s what to do:

Start over. If you can’t start over, strain the mixture and add some starch to cold water. Slowly pour in while stirring. If you can’t do that, you’ll just have to live with a few tiny clumps. It won’t ruin the flavor, it’ll just be a little gummy and you may need a little extra to compensate.

Egg Replacer (store-bought)

This is the fastest way to replace eggs in baked goods, but not meringue or sauces. Follow the directions, OR add to dry ingredients and increase the liquid in your recipe to compensate. It will turn out the same.

Gelatin

Gelatin works much the same as a starch, except it firms up into a wobbly solid when cooled. Excess amounts of gelatin can make homemade gummies, if you don’t mind that the texture is a little different. Use this in place of eggs or eggs yolks in pudding.

The amount here will be similar to starches, but may vary according to the type you buy. Jell-o sells unflavored gelatin, and there are other brands. Many people like the benefit of beef bone broth gelatin, which is the stuff that makes homemade soup thicken as it chills. It’s also very good for the lining of your gut. It is also, however, more expensive.

I haven’t used this as often, but I can tell you that the texture is softer than gummy bears and harder than jell-o mix, so be careful not to add too much.

*Gelatin is not vegan unless stated. It comes from animal bone marrow.

Share your most creative egg substitute below! I’d love to hear.

Published by Leah Ruth

I am passionate about sharing what I learn, discover, and create. I am a teacher, writer, creator, and lover of Jesus. I hope to inspire you, teach you something new, or show you that you're not alone in this. Follow my updates or check out some of my other websites for a variety of topics. I have my fingers in lots of pies! In all, I hope to encourage you. Thanks for stopping by! -Leah

Tried my recipe? Tell me how it went!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started